Hunting The Hen Harrier In Hay Street

A nice man I was chatting with in the Tewin hide yesterday told me that a hen harrier had been seen recently in the Braughing area. I noticed many birds of prey around there when we were going backwards and forwards to the TR4 restorers. I got to know lots of the single tracks through the lovely countryside when I was hunting the escaped rhea in the vicinity a few years ago.

I captured a nice kestrel in flight and a big bird of prey on the ground in the distance. Then I spotted another sizeable bird on the ground in a flock of gulls. I got so excited as the sun was catching its head and breast, which looked very pale and hen harrier-like. I took lots of shots using the car as a hide and then got out and started walking towards it across the field. It was much less skittish than a kestrel. Unfortunately it turned out to be a buzzard. Lovely bird but not my quarry of choice. 

I questioned a few walkers about the hen harrier and evidently it has been in the area for some time, as has a rough-legged buzzard. I think I might go raptor hunting again tomorrow.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.