Fringey Friday

I had a meeting across past Glasgow this afternoon, but luckily there is a direct train to where I needed to go and I was back in Edinburgh at 6pm. Met Cyclops, 77 and Mrs77 for some random Fringery.

Fringe show #30: Steve Gribbin: Viva Gribbostania!
I wasn't sure what I was going to make of this guy with his slightly contrived stand-up set about founding his own independent country performed in a random back room off Queen Street, but actually it was excellent. I quickly became very fond of Steve, and his snappy parody songs. The humour was sharp and intelligent, and often threw a curveball going to places I did not expect. His singing was plenty good enough that it added to the act rather than detracted (and believe me that is not always the case). Really enjoyed the show, lots of laughing out loud, and I think Steve has the potential to be outstanding.
Rating: 4*

Fringe show #31: Creative Martyrs: An Hour Long Sinister Wink
I tried to explain this show to someone, and I had no idea what to say or what it is. Cabaret, I guess. A kind of Berlin-style semi-parody duet with singing and instruments perhaps. Well whatever it was, I loved every single thing about it. The music was great, the harmonies tight, and the content very witty. The audience interaction showed excellent comic timing and was very well judged. And dark, too. Very dark stuff. Very very good, my second five star act.
Rating: 5*

Fringe show #32: Ro Campbell: Midnight Meltdown
Ro did a straightforward stand-up act blending prepared material and audience interaction in a solid consistently amusing set. His humour was close to the line on some occasions, which is how I like it. Edgy enough to be funny, but he didn't go too far. Ro is Australian but he first came to Scotland in summer 1998 (as did I!) and he has pretty much stayed. As such, he has a unique and extremely well observed take on Scottish culture and customs which went down very well with the locals amongst the audience.
Rating: 3.5*

Having had such a great night, we proceeded on to Voodoo Rooms for some more pintage and rolled home after 3am closing time.

MrsCyclops recommends:


- Steve Gribbin: Viva Gribbostania!
- Creative Martyrs: An Hour Long Sinister Wink
- Ro Campbell: Midnight Meltdown

Fringe stats:

- Total shows: 32
- Total cost: £82.25
- Average cost per show: £2.57

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.