Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Chacmool with flower

A “free” day but lots of things to take care of before going to the island in the morning…As I was watering the plants in my kitchen window I was surprised to see a large christmas cactus that I’ve had for ages blooming!!.  it’s so old, I can’t remember when it had many blooms.  This is exciting!  This flower looks like it’s being held by the small Chacmool figure, a tourist version of a pre-Columbian mesoamerican sculpture of probably a warrior with an offering or a sacrificial bowl in his lap.  They seem to be an intermediary between the people and the gods.    I love looking at this  souvenir from a trip to Chichen Itza and the Yucatan many years ago..  I think this Mayan history is really interesting —you can look here if you want more..   Of course this got me thinking about the Mexico I love and the Mexicans in this country and worrying .......It’s hard to leave it all in the background and it gets worse and worse with new appointees.   But I’ll stop…..for now….and go to Canada.   We could just stay there......... :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.