Madhatter

By Madhatter

Made to measure

Today I had two partners in crime as I investigated the local fabric market. They were more successful in their quest than me, as I had anticipated something like Singapore or Thailand and silk being available. There was a whole building full of tailor shops, probably around 100 or so shops, with various offerings. I unfortunately was empty handed as the women's wear was very old fashioned and staid. After my experiences trying to buy a t-shirt yesterday when I was extra large, I found nothing I felt grabbed me. So I acted as a style advisor to my colleagues and learned some German dressmaking terms as they were talking to each other in German and then negotiating with the tailor in English.

After several hours in the emporium (and I bought nothing!) we went for lunch, and were given instructions on the etiquette for dim sum eating. Very delicious it was too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.