Blackwater

When I saw this photograph I immediately thought of a book I read many years ago.
Kerstin Ekman was writing a sort of "Scandanavian Noir" many years before the term was coined. Blackwater (1993), the book I read, involves an unsolved double murder in a remote part of northern Sweden, and takes place over a 20 year period. However, a warning, the book is not a straightforward crime novel!  I'll quote part of a review on Amazon; " Blackwater is absolutely NOT a conventional plot-driven action thriller or police procedural. This novel is a profound study of individual psychology and and the impact of insular rural life in a harsh but very beautiful sub-arctic region." That sounds a little dry, which it isn't - I read it twice without any problem.
Think, just taking and looking at a photograph can bring all this to mind.
The extra is Rusty, of course.  He's looking out over the forest and lake from a 3,5 metre high boulder, one of our coffee stop places.
He nearly leapt from this point which I found quite worrying but later he casually clawed up a 2 meter boulder and then just as casually jumped down, so maybe it would have been OK!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.