Manuscript illumination

Thanks to The Aphid's theme of illuminated for MonoMonday I have opened the last of the book boxes still not unpacked in the living room. I knew I had a modern copy of the Tres Riches Heures du Duc de Berry somewhere, and of course it was in the last unopened box !

The Tres Riches Heures is the most famous and possibly the best surviving example of French Gothic manuscript illumination, it dates from the 15th century (Wikipedia). What you're seeing here is the description and depiction of the two evangelists Matthew and Luke. Both depictions show the evangelists' own enlightenment by the dove in the light representing the Holy Spirit. The colours are exquisite, see the extra. This copy was a gift from my grandmother, I'm not religious at all, but have always been interested in art and history as she was.

Now I'd better find a place for all the books I've unpacked!

Thanks very much for your comments and stars for yesterday's autumn leaves !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.