Mono Monday - Illuminate

In view of the diabolical weather and the fact that I'm at work (it is my lunchbreak though) I thought I would make an entry into the Mono Monday Challenge for today "Illuminate".
As well as the "normal" definition of illuminate (shine a light) there is also the old definition - the beautifully drawn manuscript letters are "illuminated". Of course it does not do it justice in mono, as the point of illuminated manuscripts is that they are decorated in brilliant inks.
I therefore downloaded some letters from what is probably the most famous illuminated manuscript, "The Book of Kells".  I printed the letters and then photographed them before converting them to mono.
So here are the initials for "CoffeePotter" as written/drawn by Celtic monks around the year 800AD. (Don't blame me for the fact that the "P" is a bit wibbly wobbly - that's how it is.)
The manuscript was probably begun on the isle of Iona (just off Mull) and finished at Kells in Ireland. We've visited Iona many times, and it's a magical place. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.