a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Three

Mono Monday: Illuminate

Power in the darkness
Frightening lies from the other side
Power in the darkness
Stand up and fight for your rights


Freedom, we're talking 'bout your freedom
Freedom to choose what you do with your body
Freedom to believe what you like
Freedom for brothers to love one another
Freedom for black and white


Freedom from harassment, intimidation
Freedom for the mother and wife
Freedom from Big Brother's interrogation
Freedom to live your own life, I'm talking 'bout


Power in the darkness
Frightening lies from the other side
Power in the darkness
Stand up and fight for your rights

Tom Robinson Band - Power in the darkness

That track takes me back - but strangely it somehow potentially seems just as relevant today.  While enormous strides have been made in the acceptance of homosexuality, prejudice over race and religion seem to be every much of a concern as they ever were.

Not a very illuminated day to day, it has to be said.  The torrential rain that the South West has endured has meant that it has been a very dark and dismal day indeed.  Not a day for going outside, well, not unless you are wearing a full wet suit anyway.

I've spent an enormously frustrating 3 hours this evening trying to sort out some e-mail problems that have now manifested themselves.  Having assumed that the problem was caused by the new installation of my operating system, I didn't think to check the obvious thing - namely that my ISP wasn't having any problems.  They clearly are having some difficulties, but whether that is the cause of my issues or not I haven't been able to determine at this point in time. Oh happy day - I do hate IT problems when I can't resolve them!

In the meantime, it now being time to go to bed, I thought that I had better take a blip - so here is a shot of the headlight array from the Ducati.  I had intended to try to be a bit more inventive, but I've run out of time and energy today.  I've also run out of time to catch up with your journals, I did make a start yesterday, but haven't managed to get there tonight.  Tomorrow, as they say, is another day :-)

The Mono Monday challenge is once again hosted by The Aphid this week. You can view all the entries here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.