Flattery

It is said that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, so here I am flattering a photographer by the name of Henry Hargreaves.  His images are featured in the current issue of British Journal of Photography and provided the inspiration for my blip today.

Admittedly, this image was produced fairly quickly and I am sure that a bit more time and care (including a more interesting selection of vegetables and fruit) might produce a more exciting picture. But it will do as a starter.

I have taken a symmetrical image of edible things before:  I carefully arranged wrapped chocolates in a symmetrical rectangular pattern on the floor and then photographed them from above with a camera mounted on a tripod.  This one, however, was a little easier:  I just placed the food on a flatbed scanner and scanned it, then imported it to Photoshop where a little duplication together with horizontal and vertical flipping produced the symmetrical image I was after.

Unlike the chocolates, I was not tempted to eat my subject afterwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.