Carn a Chlamain

I wandered lonely as a mushroom.

Doesn't sound quite right, does it?

The club went up to Blair Atholl and I took the chance to claim a lonely munro that I've seen from a distance and never had the opportunity to walk up. There is a long walk in on a hard estate road perfect for cycling, unfortunately I was not allowed to bring my bike on the bus, so I had to walk. On the way in I was overtaken by a group of cheerful cyclists. But it was a perfect day, sunny, breezy and not too hot.

Near the top I found this single mushroom. All by itself. I should have tried a flower setting on the camera but I left it on landscape which is why the whole thing is a bit 'off'.

The top is magnificent but very exposed so I did a quick turn around to find a shelter to eat my (late) lunch. Imagine my surprise to meet the cyclists on the way up. They'd taken the longer easier route, whilst I'd just walked straight up the ridge. Did my ego good I'll tell you.

Excellent day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.