Comfort me with apples.

This tree is in my cousin's garden. The fruit trees are truly burdened this year. My cousin tells me he didn't bother doing an apple pressing last year because there just were not enough fruit to justify getting the press out.

This year I think I will ask if there are any bottles of organic home pressed apple juice going spare...

When I was a kid we had a pear tree and two apple trees in the garden. The apple trees never gave much fruit worth talking about, but the pear tree was often laden to the ground with fruit. One year there was so much Dad made a dozen bottles of pear wine. We opened a bottle at Christmas and declared it 'barely drinkable'. The remaining bottles were left in the back of a cupboard and forgotten. About five years later they were found and a bottle opened. The vintage was declared miraculous, light dry floral and delicate. It was gone within a fortnight. Such is life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.