Eilatanfoto

By Eilatanfoto

It's Taller Than Me...

The greatest thing about having Universities in cities, is the sublime diversity they bring with them. The people, the philosophies, the lifestyles, they make the cities heart beat ever so slightly differently. It's a combination of existing knowledge and the anticipation that comes with potential. Everywhere you look, be it in the classrooms, the shopping centres, public areas and just when you're on the way to somewhere....learning is happening!! In the centre of Melbourne there are at least 4 campuses - how lucky are we!

This blip is the latest building to be added to the RMIT campus (renowned for its extreme and colourful buildings). From all angles its 'a whirlwind of colours and texture and you won't be surprised to know, I love it! Whilst taking this picture a family walked past, one of the members a resident student. The Dad (I presume), looking up asked a simple question, "How high is it?" The students smiled. "It's taller than me Dad, it's definitely taller than me". Everyone cracked up laughing and I couldn't help but think, that's what education is all about - you ask questions, you find answers, they may not be what you were expecting, but then that's where the learning comes in!

Today I went to the Ukranian Festival (never been to this before), Elephant hunting in our stunning botanical gardens (I have only a handful of elephants to find), attended a science fair (I ate chocolate covered mealworms and African spiced grasshoppers...then went and got a burger), and walked a million miles...and the whole time, I was learning - what a great Sunday, how lucky am I!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.