usp

By usp

Shelter - pc-p 20

postcard: Castle of Mey
poem: Natalia Crow (2016)- Untitled

I like misty autumn mornings,
And cold snowy winter nights.
Rainstorms bring me inner peace,
Thunder sets my soul alight.

I care not for summer days– 
Too long, the heavy heat.
Give me candlelight evenings,
Early darkness, a silent street.


Warm and dry, this week makes me think about the roof over your head; my visitor wondering whether there are now more people begging on Edinburgh's streets than on her last visit; Leonardo DiCaprio in the capital promoting (amongst other things) the work of social bite, a social business that tackles homelessness; Buckingham Palace repairs.

The postcard went to a friend in Edinburgh with a new baby. I know she loves this season. I know they have a wood-burning stove. I hope her little family is cosy in these freezing temperatures. Having said that, she is Canadian. I'm sure she knows worse than this.

NaPoWriMo - my version of it; sending a postcard-poem each day of November. Here is the how.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.