usp

By usp

Bonnie, bonnie S. - pc-p 19

postcard: Edinburgh
poem: Nina Cassian (1997) - Youthing

It's like the process of aging.
Just a process.
Your hair starts to grow wilder,
your skin gets smoother,
your appetites increase.
Suddenly, you sing in the shower and in the rain,
you discover a plant you've never seen before
and you munch it.
What's that tiny star on your left temple?
Maybe a bird scratched it with tender claws
to prod you into flying.
And then, that dialogue with the moon
keeps you awake,
and then, that dream of death
becomes more and more remote
-- or is it the other way around?

I may have bought this postcard around the same time the poem was published. Since I have loved Scotland from my first ever visit in 1988, I always enjoyed looking at this postcard and I never intended to send it anywhere. The friend in the US who I sent it to today lived and worked here in Scotland for a little while, too, so I'm sure it's going to a good home.

Today was about turning things around, in a positive way. But I'm still backblipping.

NaPoWriMo - my version of it; sending a postcard-poem each day of November. Here is the how.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.