Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Pill Sculpture

I worked the night shift last night and after the first job I took a few photo's around Newport City centre, before climbing into bed to await any calls out; they didn't materialise - it was the quietest shift I've worked!

On looking at the photo's this evening I wasn't inspired by them. A few were of Christmas trees. I don't know why I took them, really and don't want to post anything like that until about 12 days before Christmas!

So, after a job this evening I drove around looking for something that interested me and came on these flashing lights art sculpture at the entrance to Pill, Newport, opposite Newport Central Police Station. I've watched it being built for well over a year and a few weeks ago it was finally finished so I grabbed a photo.

The four people walking past has a feel of the famous photo of The Fab Four crossing the zebra crossing on Abbey Road album. Maybe this is Newport's version?!

I looked up what it's all about:

Over four years, around £6 million have been spent in the area to transform buildings, improve public areas and provide some spectacular art work. As part of the programme, which has been led byNewport City Council with financial backing from the Welsh Government’s European Regional Development Fund, three new pieces of artwork have been installed in Pill.

The final one, on the corner of Commercial Road and George Street, (picture above) was finished very recently. The sculpture, Six Pillars of Wisdom, by Andrew Small, is a mixture of digital and industrial art.
A Newport council spokeswoman said: “The programme has successfully achieved its objective to deliver regeneration in Pill through environmental improvements, a business grants scheme and the creation of a community resource centre.“Three new pieces of art work, commissioned as part of the Pill Regeneration Project, which was externally funded, have made their mark and will leave a lasting positive legacy on the area.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.