Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Power Station

An afternoon call out saw me doing a quick job in Newport and afterwards I headed to a spot I like in the Beechwood area as it has nice views over the city and Bristol Channel. It was a nice opportunity to try out a new zoom lens. I picked out Uskmouth Power Station about four miles away and the blip photo is my favourite as the birds flying past add a nice touch.

Uskmouth Power Station is a series of two coal fired power station at the mouth of the River Usk in the south-east of Newport, Wales. The first of the two station, was built in the 1950s and demolished in the 1990s. The second station was built in the 1960s.

It has a generating capacity of 363 MW, which is enough to power 360,000 homes, or the surrounding area of Newport.  The station is currently one of the cleanest coal-fired power stations in the UK. It instead uses secondary treated sewage water in its cooling system. The station employs 90 people and has been earmarked for closure.

I'm working a night shift tonight so I'm hoping the weather is not raining as I'd like a wide angle night photo for tomorrow's wide angle wednesday challenge.

The wide angle wednesday challenge for photo's taken on the day on any subject is widwed55

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.