twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

And working from home; a busy day trying to catch up on 3 days out of 4 being out; loads of admin to do...

I dived out at lunchtime to get the bits for dinner, then back in again until 4.30. 

And then I went off in the direction of the Ocean Terminal. Her lad had left my old bike there as he'd been working (Deliveroo) on Monday night and he said 'the front brakes snapped'; no more description than that. So off I plodded to at least see what that meant, see if I cold botch it together and more importantly get it to safety.

I hunted around where I thought it would be; no joy. So I asked her for a clue (there's three outside bike parks, another 2 just inside the car parks, and endless possibilities for chaining it up elsewhere.

But of course he's coaching tennis and can't readily answer his phone, but eventually I got back 'outside the car park (Which one??? There are two!!) on bike rack' I also found another Deliveroo rider who explained the most likely places they would leave bikes; again no joy.

So after an hour, I left fearing that the bike has gone for good.

I went to hers, started dinner (a Persiana chicken salad with sumac and asparagus and artichoke and water cress and rocket and red onion and...other things) and the lad came in - I showed him a photo of where I thought he left the bike based on his description, he went Yup, and I said well it's not there now....  Arse.

Anyway, in spite of that and G coming through and seeing us hold hands which prompted a 5 minute flare up, it was a good evening. Home around ten, full of gooey choc pear pudding.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.