twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

After a good night's sleep I was up, fresh as a daisy (!) and working from 7; a gorgeous morning and the inclination to work beyond lunchtime was just not there as the sun continued to shine.

So having duly completed 'enough', I hopped on the bike and rolled up the cyclepath into town; dazzled as I went. Although I wish I'd remembered he gloves.

I wanted to dot around, taking photos in the fabulous light; which I did; Fountainbridge, along Princes St and down to Cameron Toll (although I missed Clockmill Lane for a Cigs recce). I wound my way back through the university before grabbing moussaka ingredients and was at hers for dusk. Sunset was fiery....

G had a friend so we managed to get stuff done (No, that's not a euphemism) and eventually roast chicken appeared, followed by rice pudding a la Jane Grigson from her Good Things book of 1971 - a simple but utterly velvety smooth and delightful dessert.

I cycled home in the cold; alive, awake and totally not ready for Monday morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.