SeaThreePeeO

By seathreepeeo

Abstract Thursday: Thanks

"There is always, always, always something to be thankful for."

Here in the UK we do not celebrate Thanksgiving.  I do think a day of thankfulness is something we should each celebrate in our own way.

I suffer greatly with depression and anxiety, I have done all my life.  I used to wonder if there was something wrong with me.  Two years ago as an adult I was finally diagnosed as having Asperger's Syndrome.  A syndrome that is part of the autistic spectrum.  That diagnosis made a lot of things fall into place and a lot of things fall apart,

But I am thankful for many things.  After suffering the loss of two pregnancies I am very thankful for my children and my husband for supporting me through both the good times and the bad. 

I am thankful for my friends both online and offline who are there to comfort and support me and more importantly give me a slap and tell me when I am being stupid.

I am thankful that I understand myself better and I have found the courage to be myself.

I am thankful for my new found health.  Summer two years ago I was a size 20, 16 stone and very unhappy with the way I looked.  With the encouragement of some good friends I started on my weight loss journey.  I took up karate again, started eating less and exercising more.  I am currently a size 12 and 11 stone.  Still a little way to go until I am apparently the right weight for my height.  But I am going to work on growing taller.

I am also thankful for my jobs.  I know I am very lucky to do something that I love and I'm passionate about and something most children of today would give their eyeteeth for.

And I am thankful for Blipfoto. For being there.  For improving my photography skills. For given me direction in my darkest moments.

Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.