Calm

A slow day after Wednesday’s excitement.

I bit of work in the morning. A bit more in the afternoon.

A wee walk into town to re-orientate myself and try to get the brain thinking a bit Bavarian again and not 100% Scottish.

I remembered all my Ps & Qs in German when I bought a bit of chocolate. I even got my brain to work in €s again.

I remembered to walk on the footpath and never stray onto the cycle path.

I remembered that strangers say “hello” when they pass in the street (of course it might be the “Scotland loves Europe” badge I wear, and they feel sorry for me)

I almost remembered that pedestrians often have right of way over vehicles, and drivers aren’t all ready to flatten you rather than take their foot off the gas for a second.

I enjoyed the woodsmoke smell everywhere.

I felt sad for a solitary refugee sitting in the town square using his smartphone and the free wifi to stay in touch with family/friends.  

I didn’t enjoy the grey, low cloud which afflicts this area so often in autumn and winter. 

I have the house to myself, mostly. Dr D at work. Teen 1 at work. Teen 2 away back to college for a visit from the new CEO of VW (an alumnus of the college).

OK, better get the cheese out of the fridge and a beer into the fridge. Brotzeit soon.

There are walnuts in the kitchen to tempt me. Local “home grown” ones. I love them. They’re addictive. A real seasonal treat. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.