A way out?

A busy day.  We went into Duncan for G's eye appointment and to do a few other things.  I had about 10 minutes to look for a shot, hoping for a reflection.  I took this through the dirty window of a jewellery store and had to settle for it.  Too much blur if I tried to remove too much of the dust and scratches.  I like the reflections of the jewellery in the fish tank and the reflections of the truck parked outside.  It looks like the fish are heading for the truck, maybe looking for a way out of the tank.  There goes my overactive imagination again!
I had one of those "Wonderful Moments in the Life of a Former Teacher."  We were looking for printer ink, searching the shelves for the right one, when a woman rushed up to me and enveloped me in the biggest, most genuine hug I've had in quite awhile and started sobbing.  She clung to me for what seemed minutes and said, "I didn't realize how much I've missed you!"  It was Shannon, a former student, and we haven't seen each other for a couple of years.  I was a bit overwhelmed, shed a few tears myself.  She'd been getting info about an iPad, dropped her cup of coffee, left the sales clerk standing by the iPad display in mid-sentence, and headed over as soon as she saw us.  We hope that she and her family will come over for a visit soon.  The majority of my students in NITEP were adults, and Shannon had both her kids while she was in my class, taking breaks from her studies when they were born.  I'd love to see her kids again too.  My NITEP family.  I miss them and am always thrilled when I hear from them or have surprise encounters like this one.  Made my day.  Oh, and G got a huge hug as well.
The theme of Abstract Thursday is "Thankful".  I'm  thankful for many things in my life, including all the amazing wonderful people I love and all the experiences I've shared with them.
Happy Thanksgiving to American blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.