If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Gateway.

Still clear frosty weather.  Looking for a blip I wandered up the Berrier road out of the village.  The Fieldfare Partridge and even the robin were too quick for me.  The sheep were startled by a passing car so I had to settle for a landscape.

My original intention was a shot of Blencathra but none of my shots really pleased me.   Another thought was a shot looking across to the "Summer Grounds".  A Blipper of my acquaintance is searching for the source (or to be more correct one of the sources) of the Petteril, a bit like people used to search for the source of the nile.  One source lies just below the summer grounds so she is threatening to enlist a native guide (me).

Finally I decided on a view looking the other way.  The age of the gateposts and the total impracticality of the gate for modern farm vehicles caught my eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.