Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

A not so simple challenge

A Facebook photo group I follow set the challenge "Something of yours ... a simple image" - the main rules being that it had to be shot indoors with only the available light using jpeg and no post-posting allowed (other than cropping and straightening).

Within the family I'm known for Miniatures, Doll's House Modelling and Cats. So I just had to take something which encompasses all those features: A 1/12th scale shop, basement walkway and figures; a 1/144th scale cottage; with miniature cat on the post box and an old railway hoarding on the fence. I built all the buildings from kits.


However, reading the brief again, I realised it was not "a simple image", and I doubt that just setting up the tripod in front of doll's house counts. It is a jpeg straight out of camera - but oh how I did wanted to "lift those shadows" and "tame those highlights"! 

So back to the drawing board - perhaps I need something like one I took back in Jan 2013.  I have now lost the light (bring back Summer!) so it will have to be tomorrow's challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.