Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

flying ants....

its that time of year when the rains come that we get millions of flying ants in the evenings!  They are attracted to light and many people catch them and eat them after removing the wings!  Some eat them raw, some cook them!   So tonight I heard a racket outside and there were hundreds of them - I took this through the window because had I opened the door, they would all have come inside!

Had torrential rain this morning for some hours - the back of my house was completely flooded.  I was woken early by the electric fence alarm going off - had to get someone to come and look at it - apparently water got into the sensor!!  What a surprise!  At least the temperature has come down quite a bit!!

Went to a craft market today but it was so muddy and wet - I felt really sorry for the stall holders!

And have been practising my speech for tomorrow I am being inducted into the church here!  Its in Nyanja, one of the local languages, hence the practising!!

Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.