On the right track

This morning I finally plucked up the courage to make an appointment with the doctor to discuss some ongoing issues, individually quite trivial, but which collectively could point to something that needs sorting out. I was extremely surprised to be given an appointment on the same day. The young doctor was really lovely, and took all my concerns seriously. He's booked me in for a battery of blood tests next Friday (which should be fun as I have tiny veins that collapse easily, so I don't give up my blood easily!). The blood tests are probably long overdue - apart from a couple of visits for sciatica, the last time I visited the doctor was probably getting on for eighteen years ago, so everything needed updating anyway.

In the afternoon I had a pleasant walk round Castor Backwater, although some of the flood meadows were partially underwater, which made the last part of my route a bit soggy. 

In the evening we all walked down to the local pub, as the start of Chris's birthday celebrations. We'd intended just staying for a couple of drinks, but ended up ordering dinner. I had the most delicious superfood salad (tossed red rice, black barley & quinoa salad with kale, cucumber ribbons, cherry tomatoes, pomegranate jewels, roasted butternut squash, red onion & red pepper, finished with mixed seeds and a balsamic reduction) with pan-fried salmon. Definitely a winner!

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.