Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Geffrye Museum

We were supposed to meet friends for lunch in London today but they had a bit of an emergency at the last minute and couldn't make it. As we'd already bought our train tickets we went in anyway and visited the Geffrye Museum in Hoxton in the east end. It's a place we've often fancied visiting; a museum of the development of the private house over the last 400 years, and sited in old Alms Houses. More here if interested: http://www.geffrye-museum.org.uk

There are sample rooms set up for each period to show how they might have looked; this is from the 1930's although I have to say there are some elements in there that were still familiar to me growing up in the 50's and 60's! All the rooms were interesting but as I love Art Deco this one was my favourite.

Another picture taken on my phone rather than lug the DSLR around all day so the quality is not great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.