Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Mateus

One thing you have to avoid carefully in Brazil, specially in the Northeast, is to hurt people's feelings. One thing you don't do is correct other people's children - not if their parents are present.
Ricardo insisted I met his wife Arimar, a lawyer, before he gave me permission to photograph the children of his project. He wanted to make sure there were no legal problems with it, he told me, but I suspect he wanted to have his wife's opinion about me as a person. So he invited me over for lunch. We all had a good time, talked and laughed a lot, the "feijoada" (a stew made of black beans and lots of sausages and bits of pork that are normally discarded, like ears and tail) was delicious, and after getting Arimar's permission to proceed with my plan, I wanted to take a photograph of the couple. We were in the living-room. I took the camera out of my bag, turned it on, and when Mateus, their 3-year-old son saw some light blinking and heard the noises a camera makes, he exclaimed: "The machine works!" and he came flying straight at me. Luckily, I was ready (see blip).
A second later, his hands were on my new camera, holding it fast. I was terrified. His face showed determination: No way he was going to let go.
I knew I was in a delicate situation. Normally I would simply smile and wait for his parents to intervene, but this kid was strong and pulling at the camera and twisting the machine in my hand (equally determined not to let go). I had to act fast. 
I looked over to Ricardo and Arimar, and they were simply watching me, their faces expressionless. I knew I was on my own.
"Let's play with the camera", I told Mateus. "Let me show you all the noises the camera makes." 
And that's how I defeated the grip of his strong little hands with curiosity. I showed him this and that, and suddenly the camera was back in its bag, safely out of sight.
Ricardo and Arimar didn't show any reaction. Our conversation resumed as if nothing had happened.


Later I wondered why the parents hadn't intervened. I came up with two possible answers: Either they trusted that I was capable of handling the delicate situation on my own, or they wanted to test me. I suspect it was the latter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.