The Orb

Today is a Glasgow day of looking at flats. I've got two lined up and manage to fit in a third that I was booked to see tomorrow. It's going to be hard to decide what to do - so many variables to think about. Maybe my recent experience with spreadsheets might help ;)

I'm meeting Mark & Debs later to go to The Orb gig, but they're not home yet. Neither is Debbie (from Achmore), so I while away a tasty hour with a thali at Mother India. I even come up with a possible solution for a software problem the team is having. Does that mean I can charge the lunch as a business expense?

Debbie serves me Earl Grey in a posh tea set, a replica of the Tsar's, given to her by her son's new father in law. (An interesting addition to Scoraig lore, if you're that way inclined).

Around the corner, at Debs' flat, we have a pre-gig G&T before setting off for SWG3 - a warehouse venue down by the railway arches of Finnieston. We get there 15 minutes after doors open and the Orb are already playing. They do 2 sets - the first from their new album and the second from past work. I'm not an Orb-ist, so none of the pieces are recognisable. As the evening progresses the crowd grows, the place gets darker, the music gets louder and the beat gets more danceable.

And then at 10 it's all over. The high-heeled, orange-skinned, Glasgow clubbers are queuing for their turn in the warehouse. We walk past them into the darkness and pick up a selection of Sainsbury's oven food. But when we get home decide to go out to their favourite curry house.

It's pretty much closed when we get there, but as regulars they let us in and we order without looking at the menu. The fish pakora is good, but the tandoori lamb chops are outstanding. The Nan arrives hanging vertically from a hook, which is a new one for me. The fish kahari is good too. Two curries in one day doesn't bode well for the digestive system tomorrow. I'll need to wear my bio hazard t-shirt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.