TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

The Double Decker Bus

Went for a look at our "Pioneer Village" today, a wannabe tourist attraction that left me feeling somewhat shortchanged. Out of boredom I wandered through the back fence into a huge paddock filled with rusted out implements and this old double decker bus.  I have no idea where it came from.  They are not a feature in Australia as they are in London and other places in the world.  I think they may usually be imported to carry tourists around the city sights.  However I doubt this one has ever played such a role because they are usually brightly painted (inevitably red).  Maybe this one was abandoned before it was ever put to use.
I lay on my back in the grass to try to get a good perspective and was rewarded with masses of grass seeds and bindi eyes stuck to my top, which took a lot of time and a fellow photographer to pick off, one by one. 
I found it very hard to make this look good or even photogenic, but it certainly is derelict. 
I now have it on good authority (courtesy of Mr. Hobbs) that this is indeed a Government bus which ran in Sydney up until the seventies. Apparently there were hundreds of them.  I should only have spoken of my Melbourne experience, where these were not in such fullsome use.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.