Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Vocal Ensemble Cantabile

I had an assignment today. The choir of which my father is a member performed in the St. Willibrorduschurch in Ter Apel (NL), and I was asked to make some photos of it.

As soon as I entered the church I knew it was going to be not only an assignment, but even more a challenge.

I noticed several problems during my quick scan location-scouting:
- Lots of people, well I knew on forehand they'd be there;
- Big pillars throughout the church, blocking my view where ever I would take position;
- Bad light, that's an understatement: very bad light. And on top of that, these lights in the church stayed on during the concert, no extra lighting on the choir at all.
- A lot of sound equipment blocking my view on the conductor, and cables going all over the place.

What to do! Most important: Don't panic, just watch, observe ad think. Think hard!
The concert started and during the first minutes I did nothing. I didn't know where to go. I didn't want to disturb the audience too much by walking around, and with all the lights being switched on, that could be a bit of a problem.
After a while I started, I had to... I clicked on my 24-70mm f2.8 and made some test shots. Yes, it was confirmed by my camera: bad light indeed.... I had to go sky high with my ISO.
A few more test shots, and all of a sudden I found myself walking through the church, looking for good positions, completely ignoring the audience.

I found a door which lead to a balcony in the back of the church and I took position there. Nice place, but.... right in front of me a huge chandelier with all the lights on. Aaaarrghh!!!

Switching to my 70-200mm with the lens hood and leaning on the edge of the balcony I managed to get some nice shots.
Later on I went down again and used the 70-200mm up close as well. 

All and all I'm fairly satisfied with the results. (Check out the high res version.) I hope the choir members will be too.
The noise caused by the extreme ISO isn't as distracting as I feared, compliments to Canon! :)

By the way, my father is standing left from the soloist, and above the violinist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.