End of the Day

Dropped off at Meggetland, the four of us slowly and sadly followed the hearse up to Currie Kirkyard. We passed her old house and soon swung in at the top gates - a beautiful day - crisp and clear. How many times would I mention that. So we lined up and lowered her down, son on my left, daughter on my right, and my sister and her two opposite. Her sister Sheila at the top and cousin Scobie at the foot.
After that, it all passed quickly: the reception at Dalmahoy, the usual handshakes and brief discussions, and the genuine warmth to those who had come along, old and true friends. Good old Bob Motion, the Hardys - when will I see them again? And then once everyone had departed I was able to retrace my steps and call in at the grave, the flowers laid across it. The last of the evening sun was catching the mountains away to the north and fire smoke drifting across the scene. So, that's over, the end of a long song indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.