now i lay me down...

...to sleep

i pray the lord my soul to keep - angels watch me through the night - and wake me with the morning light

do you remember that childhood prayer - or one of the many variations of it? - for there are several renditions - depending on where you were raised - what church you were raised in, etc. - but here's the thing - today i was passing my little flowering plant - and this particular bloom had simply laid - its tiny 'head' down on the leaf in front - of it and when i noticed that - immediately i thought of this prayer - it's funny to me how innocent actions such as this - can render up a long ago memory in us - yet there i stood with this simple prayer - flitting through my mind over & over

how my mama & daddy would come - to tuck me in every night, to then hear my prayers - a night time ritual repeated over and over - night after night which has remained with me as a positive influence - of their love for me all these years later just from seeing - a tiny pink flower which for me has made it...

a

happy day.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.