Schlumbergera Flower

I spent all day at Mrs madwill's studio building an internal insulated cover for the 'loading bay' roller shutter. The bay is used as the 'shop' bit - where all the fabric is displayed. It is a bit cool in there and so before it gets really cold outside we had to try and stop the draughts. I did cover up the larger gaps with bubble insulation and gaffer tape before - but now the draughts from the roller door are a lot less.

I had a feeling it was going to take all day - so I grabbed this blip before I went out. Our little C*******s Cactus (Schlumbergera) has begun flowering - despite us having neglected it for 11 months! It sits on the kitchen window and we water it maybe once or twice a year - yet it still produces fabulous flowers.

Just set my camera with macro lens on a tripod, grabbed the little ringflash unit, popped a bit of black felt behind the flower and hey presto! The ISO has gone a bit high - so some of the detail is a bit blurry - but, I don't think it is too bad. Looks nice in gallery mode

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.