a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Edge

This small pen knife blade is 4 centimetres long, so it's not an offensive weapon, but rather quite a useful tool.

When I was growing up I was given a small pen knife by my Grandad when I was about 7. My Dad and both Grandads always had one with them. Not something that is encouraged nowadays.

I remember learning to treat it with respect the hard way, as it was all too easy to cut one's self. A very useful lesson.

Of course, nowadays no one needs a knife to sharpen their quill pen, and they haven't for at least a hundred years, so it's a little bit of an anachronism that we still call them pen knives. But that title sounds so much better than "utility knife" or the equivalent :)

I'm still without the Mac, so blipping from the phone. Tomorrow is the first day the Mac might be back, but I shan't get too excited at the prospect as it will probably be a few more days yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.