New Kid on the Block

New kid on the block looking at me, looking at him, looking at me! He was so new the after birth hadn't even come out.

What a treat..what utter utter magic these last few days have been for me! My computer is groaning under the weight of pics :)) 4,000 ish I am guessing. It's been worth missing 'Full English' on the breakfast menu just in order to get to the beach faster.  Thinking hard now .... yeees  yes  it was! 

How do you pick 1 shot out of so many and I think it has to be the moment that is special for you/me. So ....this is my chosen image. 

I took many different  shots in every way and better technically, however, I have never seen a seal give birth. 

I've never watched a colony's behaviour with interaction, never ever seen mating in quite such close proximity or talked to seals before. I know this is hard to believe ;) I was surrounded by French or could have been Belgique  - (too much Poirot),  photographers - who were there from sunrise - men who were 'oohing' and 'aarrhing' at the events unfolding and we were all mesmerised by the birth and the aftercare. One of life's miracles within feet of the camera. You really couldn't beat it!


'New Kid on the Block' let's call him Danny to keep on a roll, seemed unfazed by the paparazzi which many of our 'Celebs?' would die for. He was fed pretty soon after his birth unlike many I've seen and looked strong and healthy. Great job Mum! 

Stunning few days and it's thanks to Cr055ie who inspired me to go up there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.