ABT

By ABT

A hat for every occasion?

These wooly hats at the Christmas Markets were attracting the young and the not-so-young.  They reminded me of my granny and granda who were great knitters in their day.  My granny would make us lovely Arran jumpers and then they got some knitting machines and their knits were so popular that they received orders from relatives and friends from all over Aberdeen.  You would see someone walking along the street and recognise the pattern as one of theirs.  Some of their creations were 'colourful' to say the least but the main thing was is that they loved making them and knowing that people were appreciating all their hard work.  Now that they are no longer here, it's funny looking back at old photos, especially the ones of me and my 3 brothers all in our specially created jerseys.  Hopefully the wearers of these wooly hats will enjoy wearing them as much as I'm sure someone enjoyed making them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.