Tui Feeding

Today the blossom tree at work was swamped with tuis - there are not many trees in full bloom yet so ours is very popular. At one time there were 7 of them in there all at once which is something I've never seen before. They can be quite aggressive so it's always a surprise to see a group of them.

Their song was fairly constant throughout the day and was wonderful to hear from my office. Sadly a couple of times I had to go off and teach, and then I had to deal with a few 'issues' so I couldn't just listen to them uninterrupted.

Unfortunately they wanted to feed off the blossom at the top or in the middle - anywhere that I couldn't get a clear shot at them.

For those of you who don't know our tui, they usually appear mostly black. Their only colour being the white bobble at the throat and the white strands in their 'ruff' - it's only when the light catches them that you see the colours - and the camera seems to bring them out more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.