Designer shoes

Went out for a run early this morning, thinking that there might be good light by the time I got to Coxs Bay, having done a big loop through Ponsonby on the way. Just after I started down Ponsonby Road I went past a small gallery and was stopped in my tracks by the grotesque combination of dolls and rabbit heads masquerading as art. I spare you all what it looked like, leaving you to your undoubtedly vivid imaginations.

It served its purpose, however, because not many doors along I went past what I think is an outlet for the Black Box Boutique, selling designer clothes by all the designers listed in the window (plus some more which were below the bottom of the image). This window appears to be for a shoe shop.

While it is a further grotesquerie, at least shoes on a skeleton is not too bizarre, given how skinny some marathoners are. I recall commentators describing Rob De Castella of Australia in the early 80s as big. He was 1.83 m and 70kg. My height and 2 -3 kg under my racing weight at the time. For a moment I thought maybe I might become world class if I could just lose those extra kgs. Unfortunately, or probably fortunately, rationality triumphed and I continued to enjoy my food.

Bill Rodgers (a US marathoner of that time) was quoted as saying he was never quite sure if he ate so much because he ran so much, or he ran so much so he could eat so much. Always have liked that one. As I age, I will need to be a bit more circumspect, I guess.

Anyhoo. This is exactly as it came out of the camera. Attempts at improvement with tweaking, were unpleasing. Later photographs were less striking. Busy all day on reports, so no other opportunities for a photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.