A warning, perhaps

This morning I deliberately chose to run the full length of my One Street with the intention of getting my 1,000th blip on Ponsonby Road. I have a number of series which I intermittently add to; cafes, local thoughts, street art. I've done all the painted electronics boxes on Ponsonby Road, so an addition to that series was not on the agenda.

Because of an early start at the ward, I was running before sunrise, and the low light was a little bit limiting. Nevertheless, I found some murals in an alley off Ponsonby Road, and was quite pleased with one. As was S. It was a damp and cold morning and the cafes were relatively unpatronised and the only decent shot left me a little dissatisfied.

Eventually, I turned off Ponsonby Road onto Crummer Road, to pass the board fence around the huge hole in the ground which was meant to be a large shopping complex with apartments above until the developer went bust, and was then taken over by a supermarket chain. After a flurry of activity, recently the only development has been additions to the decoration on the fence. This is one I have not seen before.

I have chosen to make it my 1000th blip as in many ways it epitomises the changes I have gone through in the last 1,000 days. With the help of my subscribers and their comments I have developed a better eye for an interesting image. Following some wonderfully stimulating conversations on blip with some really marvellous people, my blips have developed more of a statement aspect than being another pretty scene; I still like the wonderful scenery New Zealand offers me, and I am always privileged to showcase it to the world. (I will note that the most appreciated of my blips appear to be sunrises over water; what I get by virtue only of being an habitual morning runner).

Although this is not on Ponsonby Road, it is less than 100 m away. I have tried this evening to read what is written on the wooden "shield", and I think it is "You shall not provoke me with impunity". The breast plate is a dollar sign, which S has informed me began life as a combination of U and S, for the United States.

It is tempting me to interpret this as a caricature of the President of the US, using wealth and violence to deal to those who offend the sensibilities of his country. Against that is the reference to Auckland F-ing City, and the central city in the background.

As always the taggers have leapt into action, although the central aspect of the mural is left alone. This photo is part of my change from merely recording my day (or one part of it) to recording the time in which I am living.

I will take this opportunity to not just thank Blip Central for the site and the support they have given to those of us who take the opportunity to post our photos, and have our conversations. I know that work has precluded me from being as active as I have been in the past. I have but one more week of the locum, and will then hope to have some time for me; and you.

I also want to thank each and every one of those whose journals I admire and learn from, and those who follow my posts and make comments and teach me things. So often a comment will bring to my consciousness an aspect of a photo which I have overlooked or undervalued. I think this has made me a better photographer, while still I have much development to undertake.

Most of all I want to acknowledge the values of those with whom I interact through Blip. I do not believe it is chance, nor is it active selection, by me and/or you. I think that being a photographer, who wants to record her or his day and share it with others with and for pleasure, without pride (which can be affronted), results in a person who is open minded, generous and fair.

I am so valuing this journey of discovery, which I hope to continue.

PS. I was going to note some of the photos which pleased more than others, and I have chosen not to do more than link to this one. I never would have thought that I would take a photo of a bird, nor that I could get such a clear shot as this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.