Rogues Gallery Series -- Portrait #6

Sanford Evans -- And here is the father of the previous two people.  My maternal grandfather, Sanford Evans was born in Macon Georgia in 1889.  I don't know anything about his youth or early years, but somehow he eventually made his way to Connecticut where he married my grandmother in 1922.  During World War I, he was a Colonel in the army and during that period he designed a wheel chock for air planes -- a variant of which is still in use today.  He made his living as an architect in Westport, Connecticut.  I remember him as a very affectionate grandfather who always had candy in at least one pocket of his clothing.  He spoke with a soft Southern drawl, and always called me "Little Girl".  (Towards the end of his life, in the mists of dementia, his face would light up when he saw me, and he'd call me "Alice" -- another unsolved mystery!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.