Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The joys of Christmas

I have a personal rule that I don't go shopping in the bigger towns near me during December. However, I needed one more Christmas present and today being only the second day of December, I thought how bad can it be? Well, bad enough is the answer. Long queues into the parking garages, the shops are so busy, crowds on the streets, and then a long queue at the parking ticket machine to pay when leaving. But I got that one present and that is it, I won't be visiting the bigger towns again until January. The joys of Christmas.

Kingston, where I went shopping, is having a Christmas market and looks quite festive. It was a dull and miserable day with poor light but I still decided to take my big camera shopping with me to get some of the Christmas scenes.

Going away next week (to the funeral) means I am rushing around getting everything organised for when I am away and also trying to make sure I am ready for Christmas. Christmas cards written and posted....tick, Christmas food ordered....tick, presents bought....tick, presents wrapped.....er no - so that is a job for this weekend.

Tonight Gavin and I are going to the Christmas Concert at Thomas' school - it is a selection of music performances from Christmas songs, pop, jazz and blues. It is a very popular event with the local community and at only £5 a ticket for a jolly good evening's entertainment it is understandably popular. Thankfully I bought two tickets some time ago thinking a friend may come with me (as Gavin was not due to be here), but I am pleased I bought that extra ticket so that he is now able to come with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.