Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

You Can Never Hold Back Spring - Tom Waits

Only two more classes to teach at college before the Easter holidays. I think that at least some of the students have one eye on that already.

Personally I won't get much of a break, it will just give me more time at home to devote to other work. I'll also have the pleasure of Maddy being off school so that's something to look forward to.

When this title came up I instantly had an idea for the shot. The thing is when I was wandering about after work getting some back up shots just in case I took this one and decided it was far better than my original idea. Oh well, nothing wrong with a happy accident. If anyone is interested the shot I originally thought of is here although it didn't look as good as I hoped it would.

Tom Waits is a living legend as far as I'm concerned. Although he has been recording since before I was born I don't recall hearing any of his stuff until the early nineties. My best friend Craig had a huge pile on vinyl tha he had liberated from his mother's music collection since she never listened to it any more. At the time Craig's flatmate was notorious for inviting scores of people back to their flat for parties after nights out at clubs. Craig and I realised that when it had gone on long enough a sure fire way to start clearing people out of the flat was to start sticking on the Tom Waits albums. It never failed, within about quarter of an hour at most the bulk of the people would have cleared off elsewhere in search of more repetitive beats.

He's a man who has never stopped making quality music and, as far as I am concerned, a serious contender for coolest man in the world. This track is one of the mellower ones off his recent triple album Orphans which I'd say is a must for any record collection.

you can hear the track here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.