Karen's Zoo

Last night I attended the “Celebration of Life” for my dear friend, Karen, who passed away in October.  She was a high school friend, who was adored by everyone who ever met her.  She had a good life, long marriage, raised two wonderful children, a teacher and a soon-to-be doctor.  She had a very successful career, starting at the bottom and rising to an executive position, and in retirement she was a member of the book club, garden club, movie club, and involved in charity work. 

We all went to high school in France in the mid 1960’s and would periodically get together for a “Girls from France” weekend away to reminisce, tell stories and laugh. She was incredibly funny and no one could tell a story like she could. She had a steel-trap memory and never forgot anything.  As we all gathered together in Columbia, South Carolina for a few days for this sad occasion, her absence was deeply felt. 

Her funeral and burial had been for family only, a few weeks ago.  Quite frankly, none of us knew what to expect from this “Celebration of Life.”   I think we expected that it would be a memorial type service with lots of eulogies. Instead it was a party, which is exactly what Karen wanted.  We all gathered at the Lodge at the local zoo.  This was significant because Karen had been a volunteer at the zoo during her college summers along with another person who is now the director of the zoo.  There were food, drink, a guitar player playing her favorite songs, and a wonderful continuous slide show put together by her children.  All the people who knew Karen in the various stages and compartments of her life had a chance to meet, mingle and share stories in a very intimate setting.  It was very special.  

Today, after I said goodby to all my friends, I went back to the zoo and spent a couple of hours there before my 90-minute drive to Charlotte to the airport.  It was a lovely warm, sunny day and I had a very pleasant stroll around the animal exhibits.  I have chosen this picture for today because I am sure Karen would have loved the expression on this primate’s face.  I have loaded a few of the others that I took on Flickr.  I will forever think of this zoo as Karen's. 

(backblipped 12-2-2016)  I wonder if I will ever get caught up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.