atoll

By atoll

4-0 to the Villa

No never-ever fished before says Jake, and only grabbed two hours sleep last night it seems, before catching his Virgin Pendolino red-eye from Birmingham to Bangor this morning around 05:00. Picking him up just after 08:00, J's boyfriend looked a bit non-plussed when I explained he had no choice but to come fishing for Mackerel with me off the rocks near Mariandyrys. J said something about maybe I had wished she had been a boy, or failing that, a dungarees-wearing tomboy (mmm funny that, as I did once toy with the idea before she was born of calling her 'Scout' after my favourite book and film 'To Kill a Mockingbird').

Anyway, the fishing gods were looking down and laughing at me as Jake hauled in one fish after the other: Three small-to-medium sized Pollack and a tiny Launce beat me fair and square. The fish were all a too small to be real 'takers', and so were all returned unharmed, but the boy is a natural.

I told Jake I was very happy for him as it was his first time, and even shook his hand to congratulate him. But I also growled "if you dare catch a Bass though, I will drive you straight home to Birmingham right now." Thankfully, that final humiliation was spared for both of us.

Left J and Jake to a weeks holiday, and we will catch up with them on Friday night. In the meantime, back home to work now in Knutsford.

Postscript: Rubbing salt into the fish wound, have just read Mastermariner's account of catching 351 Mackerel yesterday. Not fair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.