atoll

By atoll

Shanghaied

Continuing my architectural ramble about Knutsford (for wont of something else to ramble-on about), here is a picture taken this morning on a short detour to collect a parcel from the Royal Mail depot. Funnily enough, as I was taking a picture of this house which is currently being refurbished on Legh Road, a postman emerged round the corner and asked me if I had just bought it. Nice to think I looked the part, but in my pumps, shorts and old fleece, I can't kid myself. Of course he was just being polite and was actually thinking I was (at best) doing the build work or (worse), casing the joint. I asked him if he would mind posing in my shot but he declined the dubious honour. Forgot to ask his name sorry, but I did at least tell him all about Legh Road's history before he cycled off at speed.

Many of the buildings on this road are again by Richard Harding Watt as per last week's Gaskell Memorial Tower and the earlier Ruskin Rooms blip. Details of the lovely eccentric (but now slightly crumbling) architecture of Legh Road can be seen on this unrelated blog.

I mentioned before that Legh Road doubled-up for colonial Shanghai in the opening scenes of the Steven Spielberg 1987 film Empire of the Sun. It was only on-screen though for about 10 seconds as Christian Bale cycled madly about trying to find his parents in the deserted streets following the Japanese invasion.

Bound to my computer for rest of the week, but at least it has been raining again outside (sorry to be so selfish).


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.