TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Underbelly

I can't say I have enjoyed trying to capture a clear image of the underbelly of this spider that has taken up residence on the camellia in our courtyard.
I feel literally revolted by spiders - not really frightened, just can't look at them.
I can't even bring myself to try to identify this little fella.  I must say the creamy markings on the underside of his abdomen and around his tail end are a bit intriguing. His legs are quite long and elegant with yellow and brown bands on them.  He seemed to be eating something when I looked through he lens, but I have failed to capture that, much as I tried.
I don't think I will be pursuing spiders in the future.  It has been quite an unsettling experience - bordering on arachnophobia, if I'm  honest. Does anyone recognise it? It is less than 2cm in length from tip to toe.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.