One last apple...

Dear Diary,

This old apple tree was planted over 60 years ago by a previous owner.  It produces a lot of small apples that really aren't good for much but cider, which I have made in the past.  But now I just let the apples fall to the ground when they are ready.  When Matt came to do the final raking in November I told him to not rake up the apples.  I leave them for the deer who love to graze under the tree.  Matt did take a bushel of apples in October to feed his pigs.

I was looking at the frost covered branches and noticed that one apple had fallen off a branch and landed in the crook of two big limbs.  It seemed so yellow sitting there, it really caught my eye.  I thought, "The apple doesn't fall far from the tree!"  I wonder how long it will sit there before a squirrel discovers it!  It was a moment of common enchantment on a grey morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.