Of Gin and Mushrooms

Dear Diary,

For our last outing, my cousins and I went to Tamworth, New Hampshire to visit the New Hampshire Mushroom Company and the Tamworth Distillery.  The whole town was having a Christmas festival and it was a cold but lovely day for the many events.

The distillery makes specialty gins, vodkas and whiskeys and you can see the stills from the showroom...a very impressive set-up.  The mushroom "farm" had a tour of the growing facilities which was quite fascinating.  There are a staggering 8,000+ varieties of wild fungi in New England but they cultivate about 15 here for the specialty market.  They have to pick 3 times a day to keep up with the production.  I said, it is more work than keeping cows which only have to be milked twice a day!

Today is a "recovery" day for me.  I think I overdid it a bit the last three days with all my socializing.  I will have my wonderful Christmas tree to enjoy, my books and the series "The Crown" to watch.  I might even sneak in a nap!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.