The Great Russian Nutcracker

Dear Diary,

The ice storm turned to rain mid-morning so by the time I left at noon the roads were just wet.  I am so glad I didn't miss this amazing performance by the Moscow Ballet.  I snuck a quick photo at the opening of the first act so you can get a feel for the production.  This was dubbed the Dove of Peace Tour, something much needed in this world.  I saw this company in 2004 in Moscow perform Swan Lake.  The trip was an awesome experience and since then I've tried to separate the Russian people from what their government does as I hope they do of us as well. 

The highlight for the audience was the Arabian dancers in Act Two.  There really are no words to describe the performance so here is a link to their dance.  It will take your breath away!  I use to be able to do a fairly good split in high school when I was a cheerleader but what they did with their bodies was surreal.  

There was no Sugar Plum Fairy in this production but two dancers enacted the Dove of Peace.  Here is brief clip...  A truly wonderful afternoon at the theater. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.