CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Ryeford canal bridge from towpath

I had to drop Helena in Stonehouse early this afternoon at the local community hall where she had a stall at an indoor market. As I drove back home along the Ebley by-pass I suddenly decided to have a short walk along the canal at Ryeford, just a few hundred yards away. I quickly turned the car around and headed to a small cul-de-sac where I could park near the bridge.

It was very quiet if you could avoid the sound of the busy traffic on the by-pass and the tinkling of bells on bicycles as they nipped along the towpath. I walked westwards along the towpath and as i reached this point, I stopped to take in the scene.  I was very surprised when I turned to look across the canal at the sight of a kingfisher, perched on a branch at about my head height, looking straight at me. 

I started my camera, adjusted the settings and hoped to see it flying.  But before I could get completely ready it had dived vertically down into the canal water and came up with a mouthful of a small fish. It flew away to another tree where I spotted it join a second kingfisher also perched on a branch.  then they flew away together into the nearby bushes before heading west along the canal. I stood waiting for their return but to no avail. I shall have t return with a zoom lens as this seems a good place to see them, and it is much brighter than at Capel's Mill where I usually watch out for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.